Thoughts

Thoughts are difficult to control. 

Negativity can take a toll. 

Bad thoughts can exponentially grow,

They can try to replace the truths that I know. 

 

But good thoughts have the potential,

To be even more influential. 

The power of Jesus inside,

Can open my heart and eyes up wide. 

 

Memories race through my mind. 

I want to stop hitting rewind,

To quit replaying the same song. 

Reliving the past is wrong. 

 

All of the what if’s bring me doubt. 

What if I went down the wrong route?

What if I would’ve done something differently?

These negative questions harm me emotionally. 

 

My past is behind me. 

I’m ready to open my eyes to see, 

What Jesus has in store,

What is waiting through the next door. 

 

Every thought that comes into my head,

Needs to be processed before moving ahead. 

Is it in alignment with God’s Word?

Or is it something the enemy wants me to be told?

 

I command those thoughts to leave. 

It’s in this prayer that I believe:

God, remind me of who I am in you. 

Show me the things you want me to do. 

Replay your words over and over. 

Let your Spirit be my cover. 

Capture my thoughts and my attention. 

May your love be my only retention. 

Help me experience you in every moment,

To turn to you in times when I feel spent. 

Replace my doubts with confidence,

To jump over yet another fence. 

Restore my fearful being with unexplainable peace. 

Calm my soul and give me a release. 

Be my redeemer, rescuer, healer, father, and friend. 

I accept your love you give beyond the end. 

You’re my only source of comfort. 

You’re the only one I allow to set up fort. 

In my mind and in my heart,

You’ve been with me from the start. 

Let prayers surround me,

Let praise flow from within me. 

Let scripture replay in me. 

Let your love pour out of me. 

I focus on what is good, pure, holy, righteous, and true. 

You’re the one I seek in all I think and do. 

I trust in your powerful name to renew the thoughts in my head. 

It’s in you alone I come alive from the dead. 

Amen. 

Author: poemgirl5

I’m on an incredible journey of faith. I give God all the glory for everything he’s done so far in my life. I want to share my experiences in order to encourage others.

Leave a comment